Lifestyle

Are menstrual cups worth the money?

*Disclaimer! If you don’t like hearing or reading about aunt flow, this may be a post to skip as I will be mentioning blood.*

I have been looking more into Eco-friendly ways of living and came across menstrual cups. So before I give you experience and if I think they are worth the money, I want to go into the details of how they work, why we should use them etc.

What is a menstrual cup?

A menstrual cup is a feminine hygiene product used during a woman’s period. It is made from medical grade silicone and is 100% latex free (I searched a great deal into this as I am allergic to latex. Although do always double-check before buying a cup.)

Typically they come in two sizes. Size A for women haven’t had children and size B for women who have had children. The cup itself is placed just below the cervix and collects fluids throughout the day.

How do you use a menstrual cup?

Being made from silicone it is flexible and can be folded. There are some popular folds such as the ‘c’ fold and the ‘punch down fold’. As mentioned above the cup is placed below the cervix and it pops open creating a suction around the top of the cup.

Some of the folds you can use

To remove you break the suction, either with your finger or by squeezing it. Once you have emptied the contents down the loo you simply clean it off by rinsing it under the tap or wiping it with toilet roll and then continue to use.

To clean (sterilise) simply place the cup in boiling water for 2-3 minutes and it is sterile and ready to be put away. This only needs to be done once your period has ended.

Why should I use a menstrual cup?

Financial

It is estimated that women will use approximately 20 tampons and/or sanitary towel a month, this totals up to at least 240 towels/ tampons per year. If you buy branded towels and tampons ( The price between branded and non-branded only differ slightly) that can equal up to approximately £120- £200 per year. Menstrual cups if cared for properly last for up to 10 years and can cost around £20.

Environmental

Because of what sanitary item are used for they can’t be recycled, so they either get sent to landfill or they get flushed down the toilet and therefore sent into the oceans.

My experience

I will be honest the idea of using it made me a bit nervous at first, which therefore meant it took me a few times to be able to get it in right place. I did have a couple of trial runs, before aunt flow arrived, which helped. Once I had finally got it right I was really happy and confident with it and luckily I haven’t had any leaks so far!

Are they worth the money?

Yes 100% I have already saved about £30-£40 and its been 2 months. I have no issues with emptying it and I’m glad I no longer have to worry about having towel and pads waiting.

If you have any questions then please post them below or you can contact me on and of my social media accounts.

Contact 

Untitled design (1)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.